Fabrizio Paterlini – Viandanze

Fabrizio Paterlini is an Italian composer of solo piano works who has a magnificent ear for when to give a note space and time to breathe and when to up the anty so to speak. His compositions are seemingly so very simple yet Paterlini manages to draw every inch of emotion from his fingers and translate those feelings into deeply melancholic textures and hopeful endeavors.

I really havn’t come across something of this stature in a long time, and normally solo piano albums struggle to hold my attention – however, even at it’s 47 minute running time I cannot bring myself to click pause once or stop half way through the record. Once I start I have to finish, It’s almost as if I want to be right next time him as he plays so I know he is not alone – a incumbent connection is built between performer and listener here and it is just magical.

Comments
One Response to “Fabrizio Paterlini – Viandanze”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a comment