Beirut – The Rip Tide

I have been eagerly awaiting this release and I managed to ignore all the leak talk until my pre-order download went live at the Midheaven website. Promptly the file was downloaded and added to my iTunes library. Less than 24 hours later and I am on my 8th listen right now and I am enjoying every minute of it.

I am going to go out on a limb here and claim that this record is Beirut’s strongest to date – the album is 33 minutes (yes…way too short) of a mixture between the classic Beirut sound mixed in with a little Realpeople Holland (For all those naysayers, not too much). What I love about this record is its maturity (what?), not that Zach Condon and co. were not mature about their music before, but this time around the album is focused, concise, dynamic.

Between the bouncy swagger of Santa Fe, the ascending marching drum line of Goshen and the utterly delightful Vagabond there is enough brass finesse, piano driven east european pop and playful strings. In fact, there is not enough of it, I would have liked another 10 minutes of this sweet sweet musical honey. Alas, Beirut denies me this, and maybe this is a good thing as they leave me just wanting more of what they dish out.

The Rip Tide can be purchased from Midheaven mail order, the first pressing on LP comes in a cloth cover (much like your old style books) with a clear vinyl.

Leave a Reply

