Anathallo

My journey with Anathallo began with a chance encounter, skimming through forums an album cover catches your eye, it’s beauty only hinting at what music lies within. This was something I had to check out. Swirls of colour scrambled into position around a silhouetted canine, surrounded by pink and blue flowers in a dazzling array of equal parts mystique and intrigue. This album, entitled appropriately Floating World, would become a sanctuary for me for the better part of the last five years.

Instantly I was drawn to the expansive nature of this indie pop group, blending splendid vocal harmonies, brooding arrangements, playful melodies and a dizzying amount of instrumentation. Not only was the album wonderfully crafted, it formed a connection with me that surpassed many other records I have encounted. The fact that it was a concept album revolving around Japanese folklore only drew me in further, and not before long Floating World became one of my most adored records.

Naturally, when you discover such an album you do some research on the artist or band in question, and I did. Tracking back and immersing myself in their back catalogue I found a completely different group. This collective created some real passionate, punk rock music – and it was fresh, begging to be listened to with the odd horn flourish here and there. What was most notable were the Christian themes in their music. It didn’t bother me, I am in no way religious but the fact that they laid their hearts on their sleeves made the music all the more powerful. The earlier records like Sparrows, Luminous Luminescence in the Atlas Position and A Holiday at the Sea hinted at what was to come but stayed true to their original sound.

Along comes Canopy Glow, a more focused, pop oriented record. It blew me away. Lush and full bodied arrangements and (to borrow a term from some one) ‘acrobatic lyricism’ anchored this stunning album. The emotion poured from each and every song, as was the case with all of Anathallo’s work, and not a single second was left to be swept away, instead opting to wisk one into a sense of unrealistic reality, quiet contemplation, appreciation of life and understanding of death.

As I sit here, reflecting on my journey with Anathallo, I can’t help but admonish the fact I never had a chance to see them live. But I also wonder what it would be like if i’d never even discovered them for myself, and hadn’t been taken on the wonderful journey that they built for me through hard work and integrity. So…as I listen to the opening piano sequence of Dokkoise House (WIth Face Covered) I say thank you to Anathallo, thank you for your music, thank you for your passion, thank you for taking the time to write me when you forgot my cd. I wish you all the very best of luck for whatever the future may hold.

Alex.

Comments
2 Responses to “Anathallo”
  1. Jason says:

    I really like what you have written. I too have stumbled onto Anathallo by chance of random music I had on my Laptop. Currently to this day I couldn’t tell you how or when I got those MP3’s but anyways. Anathallo couldn’t come in a better time for me for I was currently going threw a lot of family issues, as well as a really bad band/girl friend break up, losing my personal purpose, losing any sort of enjoyment of music as well as making music, and a death in the family as well to top things off.

    For years and Anathallo is the only thing I can listen too and enjoy. They helped me sort things out and as well as come to peace with everything that has happened to me in my life. With the help of Anathallo and Jack Jack my dog who also showed up in my life around the same time I can honestly say they are a gift from God! And Jack Jack and Anathallo will always have a special place in my heart and in my life.

    Godspeed, Jason

  2. Alex says:

    Thank you for the comment, the beauty of music is that once recorded it will never go away, so thankfully we have plenty of music from Anathallo to relive and revisit well into the future 🙂

    – Alex

Leave a Reply

