Eluvium – Copia

What a heartbraking, soul searching, journey taking record this is. Copia was drawn together by now well known ambient/minimalist artist Matthew Cooper and displays a magnanimous stregnth in crafting epic, swelling labrynths to breath taking interludes. I find this kind of stuff is great to get lost in, I think I really need to go for a late night drive ot this record, but fear that I might keep driving until my tank runs dry without realising it.

Indoor Swimming at the Space Station ebbs and flows like a meditation on one theme, slowly expanding and swelling till the music feels like a wave deftly touching your toes, keeping you concious of the swells but stripping you of any glimpse of reality around you. It is just that powerful, and it is epic at ten minutes in length. The variation is what I love about this album, yes Cooper does treat us to long, stretched sound manipulations utilising piano, synths, horn and string sections but he also serves the listener with short pieces of tranquility that parallel somethign out of this world – tracks like Radio Ballet and After Nature with their solo piano ditty’s and electronic representations of the organic world leave the listener stunned aurally. But don’t take my word for it, check it out and drift away.

Comments
2 Responses to “Eluvium – Copia”
  1. Chris says:

    I’ve always had a sort of indifference to ambient music that only a very select few bands have been able to overcome (Ben Frost and Tim Hecker). I’ve had Eluvium’s ‘Lambent Material’ for quite some time and, while I would be no means call it bad, I never really find myself connecting with the album’s content. If, however, you consider ‘Copia’ to be a great improvement over ‘Lambent Material’, I’ll give Eluvium another shot.

    Maybe I’m just not “deep” enough to fully understand ambient music and should just go back to Converge…

  2. Alex says:

    I am by no means an ambient aficianado, and definately am only just starting to explore the genre, this record has a bit more variability compared with his earlier work, namely a number of solo piano pieces and the inclusion of manipulated horn sections that add a lot more texture compared with his older stuff.

Leave a Reply

