Gregory Alan Isakov – This Empty Northern Hemisphere

I have mulled over this record for a while, i’m talking months and it just seems to get better and better. Gregory Alan Isakov is from South Africa but now lives in Colarado. He has garnered critical song writing acclaim winning a plethora of awards, and it shows in the beautifully craftes songs he releases. This album falters very little, if at all, gliding from bluesy folk to full blown orchestrations slickly presented as acoustic landscapes.

What strikes me everytime i listen to this record however is the overwhelming sense of melancholia that flanks me as i listen, but it’s not a depressing melancholia, it’s one that is departing, i imagine leaving my family for a new life overseas, or parting with my best friend as we move out of home and out into the big world out there. It’s liberating but sad at the same time, and this juxtaposition of feelings is what makes every song on this album so unique and engaging. Vocally Isakov puts not a foot wrong, and teams up with two female vocalists to enhance melody and harmony. As easy as it may seem to pin this album down to some defining features, it really isn’t. All i know is that I wanna listen to it again, and again, and again.

Comments
One Response to “Gregory Alan Isakov – This Empty Northern Hemisphere”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This arrived in the mail today, so I thought I would promote it a little as the album is probably my number one for the year. The vinyl is clear brown which at first was a bit of a turn off for me, who wants a brown vinyl? To my suprise it came out real classy, it is elegant, soft and sincere which is a perfect accompaniment to the music contained on the warm sounding pseudo-americana folk cancions. There is no reason for you to not check this out, read my review of the album HERE […]



Leave a Reply

