Thanks for Reading

400 something posts have been made at Whatever Takes Your Fancy. That’s a lot. I have been thinking about the blog for a while now – mainly thoughts about whether to continue it and the time has come, I believe, to say goodbye. Why? Good question. Over the last year I have become more and more involved directly with labels, directly with artists and directly with other online magazines. Whatever Takes Your Fancy has been a place where I have voiced the music I love, however with a million things happening every day it has become harder to post as often as I’d liked. This does not mean I won’t be showing my support for independent artists any longer. Far from it. I have started a tumblr site specifically to promote independent music. The posts will be shorter in length, more to the point. I am excited about it. It is called Noisetopia (I will link you at the end of this post).

I am also involved in a number of other activities, some in the pipeline, some already known. I began writing for Netlabelism and am really enjoying it – working with a bunch of volunteers who are passionate about the netlabel scene is wonderful. I will continue to write and contribute there. I will also continue to work promotion with Feedback Loop Netlabel and curate their podcasts. I have started up my own magazine, of which the first issue will be available in March and I am really looking forward to that.

Obviously I would not exist if you people did not visit this site. Over the years I have been warmed by viewing the traffic that visits this blog, albeit modest in size, but I’ve no doubt dedicated. I will leave the blog up, purely because there is a lot of stuff on it and the various links on the front page point towards some wonderful artists, labels and other blogs. Thank you to the readers, the musicians, the labels, and the friendships with people all over the world thisĀ endeavourĀ has awarded me with. Never stop seeking out new music.

You can find my writing and collaborative work on the following websites:

Noisetopia

Netlabelism

Feedback Loop Label

Uncertain Form

Much love,

Alex.

Comments
6 Responses to “Thanks for Reading”
  1. paulcurrionC says:

    Thanks for everything you’ve done here, I’ve enjoyed reading and listening. But it sounds like you’re far from finished – in fact it sounds like you’re actually increasing your involvement! See you in those other venues…

  2. Scott says:

    To quote Mariah Carey:

    “Spread your wings and fly, Butterfly.”

  3. Me says:

    Thanks for everything, I discovered some amazing artists with your blog. Greetings from Uruguay!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

